AAG 2023 Symposium on Harnessing the Geospatial Data Revolution for Sustainability Solutions


The Institute for Geospatial Understanding through an Integrative Discovery Environment (I-GUIDE, https://iguide.illinois.edu) is supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of its Harnessing the Data Revolution Big Idea initiative (https://www.nsf.gov/news/special_reports/big_ideas/harnessing.jsp). Sponsored by I-GUIDE, this symposium will explore theories, concepts, methods, and tools focused on data-intensive geospatial understanding for driving innovative artificial intelligence (AI) and cyberGIS (cyber-based geographic information science and systems) approaches to address sustainability challenges such as aging infrastructure, biodiversity loss, and food and water insecurity.

At the AAG 2023 annual meeting, the Symposium on Harnessing the Geospatial Data Revolution for Sustainability Solutions will be held by building on the successes of previous Symposia focused on cyberGIS and geospatial data science at AAG annual meetings since 2011. A suite of paper and panel sessions will address cutting-edge advances of cyberGIS, geospatial AI and data science, and fundamental geospatial understanding derived from spatial and spatiotemporal data synthesis. The topical themes of the symposium will include, but are not limited to, frontiers of cyberGIS, geospatial AI and data science, high-performance computing approaches to geographic problem solving, geographic approaches to resilience and sustainability challenges enabled by AI and cyberGIS, and challenges and opportunities of education and workforce development in harnessing the geospatial data revolution.

Sponsorship (Incomplete)

Cyberinfrastructure Specialty Group (CISG), Geographic Information Science and Systems (GISS) Specialty Group, Spatial Analysis and Modeling (SAM) Specialty Group, etc.

Panel Sessions (Incomplete)

  • Convergence of CyberGIS and Geospatial AI
  • Data-Intensive Geospatial Understanding for Sustainability Solutions
  • Ethics in Geospatial AI and Data Science
  • Metacoupling Approaches to Understanding the Complexity of Sustainability

Paper Sessions 

If you are interested in organizing any sessions or panels as part of the Symposium, please contact Alexander Michels via michels9@illinois.edu. To present a paper in any of the Symposium sessions, please register and submit your abstract online, and email your presenter identification number (PIN), paper title, and abstract to michels9@illinois.edu by the AAG submission deadline (November 10, 2022). We look forward to your submissions and participation!


  • Courtney Flint, Utah State University
  • Eric Shook, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Shaowen Wang, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Program Co-Chairs

  • Alexander Michels, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Jinwoo Park, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Zhe Zhang, Texas A&M University

Organizing Committee

  • Luc Anselin, University of Chicago
  • Marc Armstrong, the University of Iowa
  • Peter Atkinson, Lancaster University
  • Budhendra L. Bhaduri, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Ling Bian, University at Buffalo
  • Christopher Brunsdon, Maynooth University
  • Barbara P. Buttenfield, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Guofeng Cao, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Xiang Chen, University of Connecticut
  • Alexis Comber, the University of Leeds
  • Fabio Duarte, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • A. Stewart Fotheringham, Arizona State University
  • Jing Gao, University of Delaware
  • Song Gao, University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • Daniel Goldberg, Texas A&M University
  • Michael Goodchild, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Joseph Holler, Middlebury College
  • Yingjie Hu, Department of Geography, University at Buffalo
  • Xiao Huang, University of Arkansas
  • Nattapon Jaroenchai, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Myeonghun Jeong, Chosun University
  • Jeon-Young Kang, Kongju National University, South Korea
  • Yuhao Kang, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Peter Kedron, Arizona State University
  • Mei-Po Kwan, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Wenwen Li, Arizona State University
  • Xiao Li, University of Oxford
  • Bahar Dadashova, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
  • Zhenlong Li, University of South Carolina
  • Steven Manson, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • Harvey Miller, The Ohio State University
  • Shawn Newsam, University of California, Merced
  • Anand Padmanabhan, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Ed Parsons, Google
  • Serge Rey, University of California Riverside
  • Shih-Lung Shaw, University of Tennessee Knoxville
  • Xun Shi, Dartmouth College
  • Renee Sieber, McGill University
  • Diana Sinton, UCGIS
  • Xiaopeng Song, Texas Tech University
  • Lawrence Stanislawski, United States Geological Survey
  • Kathleen Stewart, University of Maryland
  • Wenwu Tang, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • Ming-Hsiang (Ming) Tsou, San Diego State University
  • Rebecca Vandewalle, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Fahui Wang, Louisiana State University
  • Monica Wachowicz, the University of New Brunswick
  • John Wilson, University of Southern California
  • Dawn J. Wright, Esri
  • Ningchuan Xiao, The Ohio State University
  • Jin Xing, Newcastle University
  • Chaowei (Phil) Yang, George Mason University
  • Xinyue Ye, Texas A&M University
  • May Yuan, National Science Foundation
  • Chuanrong Zhang, University of Connecticut
  • Fan Zhang, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
  • Di Zhu, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Share this: